What is Erasmus+ and what does it offer?

Erasmus+ is an educational program of the European Union, offering opportunities for education, training, youth, and sports that transcend the borders of EU countries. It provides a wide range of opportunities for professional development, capacity building, project implementation, and the creation of collaboration networks between higher education institutions of EU member states and other countries worldwide. It is particularly popular for students, academic, and non-academic staff to study, train, or conduct internships abroad, deliver lectures, and enhance their professional skills internationally.

Does Bosnia and Herzegovina participate in the Erasmus+ program?

Yes, although its initial activities date back to 2007 through Erasmus Mundus Action 2, our country (and our higher education institutions) has been participating in the Erasmus+ program since 2014 as a “partner” country, collaborating with “program” countries.

What are program countries?

Program countries are Erasmus destinations where students and staff from our university can go on exchange. These countries include: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Croatia, Ireland, Iceland, Italy, Cyprus, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Hungary, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Germany, Poland, Portugal, Romania, North Macedonia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Serbia, Spain, Sweden, and Turkiye. All other countries not listed are not available for international mobility.

What is exchange or international mobility?

International mobility involves the stay of students, academic/scientific/artistic, or non-teaching staff from the University of Sarajevo at a foreign institution for educational and professional development purposes. This fosters good cooperation between countries promoting mobility in the educational field and encourages cultural exchange among students and staff of all nations. Typically, through specially organized mobility programs (Erasmus+, CEEPUS) or through calls announced by various international, national, or private institutions, students are offered many opportunities to gain valuable educational experience outside their study place, while academic staff have the opportunity for professional development and international experience at partner institutions. In specially structured programs like Erasmus+, each student has the opportunity to go abroad for 12 months during undergraduate (bachelor) studies, 12 months during postgraduate (master) studies, as well as the following 12 months during doctoral studies, for Erasmus+ mobility abroad. However, this doesn’t have to be used all at once; for example, you can combine semesters at different institutions. To participate in Erasmus mobility, you must be enrolled as a student at the University of Sarajevo. Another condition is that you have already completed a minimum of 30 ECTS credits at your home university at the time of application. Depending on the country you choose, proof of language proficiency may also be required. In addition to students, all employed staff at the University of Sarajevo have the opportunity to go abroad for a shorter period (usually five to ten working days) during one academic year for the purpose of organizing and conducting lectures (academic staff) or professional development and training (non-teaching staff).

How does international mobility occur?

The prerequisite for international mobility is the existence of a signed agreement between UNSA and the foreign partner institution from the listed countries (above). The signing of the agreement is preceded by a joint application to the European Commission prepared by UNSA and the foreign institution almost a year in advance, aiming to justify the establishment of cooperation and future international mobility. The European Commission considers the submitted application and, in case of a positive assessment, approves the budget for funding mobility, followed by the signing of the agreement.